Shadow Dawn

Chris Claremont

Part of the Willow series

Shadow Dawn cover


Page Count





It's been three years since Elora Danan's momentous Ascension. But there has been no peace among the Thirteen Realms. Instead, an intense Shadow War rages, spearheaded by the evil Mohdri, leader of the black-clad Thunder Riders. Elora's allies are the Nelwyn sorcerer and her sworn protector, Thorn Drumheller; the brownies Franjean and Rool; the eagles Anele and Bastian; Khory Bannefin, offspring of a demon who inhabits the body of a long-dead woman warrior; and two friends, Ryn Taksemanyin of the seafaring Wyrrn and a charming champion named Duguay Faralorn. Together they flee toward the still-free city-state of Sandeni, pursued by the dreaded Black Rose, commando assassins dispatched by Mohdri. But Mohdri himself is just a facade, his spirit and soul consumed by the mysterious Deceiver. Who - or what - is the Deceiver and what are its evil intentions? How can Thorn protect Elora from a power he barely understands? One thing is certain: prophecy maintains that the Deceiver can accomplish its goal only by capturing the princess...and only the princess can stop it. The collaboration of Claremont, a comic-book writer, and film and computer game maker Lucas yielded the best-selling Shadow Moon (Bantam, 1995). This follow-up offers more dragons, magic, and war.